Building My Digital Library: Adding a Links Section

I have been collecting interesting pieces of content from all over the internet, possibly for over 15 years now. During that time, I’ve used various approaches to collect the content, including using a GitHub repository, Apple Notes, Evernote, a Twitter account, a Mastodon account, Readwise, DayOne, Notion, and possibly a few more.

Each method had its own pros and cons, but they were all missing something.

I want to own my content and be in control of what happens with it. That’s best done when the content is in a space that I control and own - e.g. my website.

The other aspect I was missing was easy sharing with others. When the content is on my website, publicly accessible, sharing couldn’t be easier than that.

Inspired by Jim NielsenMatthias Ott, and Nicolas Hoizey, I decided to create a new section on my website – Links. That’s where I collect all content, sometimes with my extra commentary, that’s interesting enough to remember.

Currently, the section is quite bare. There are just a few posts, and it’s missing any kind of categorization and search. I might add those features over time as I move more of my saved content there.

To make it easy to collect links, I also created a simple bookmarklet. It takes the currently selected text on the website and creates a new GitHub markdown file in my repository. That allows me to save new content with approximately 2 clicks. That’s the real beauty of the web platform. You can create your own extensions with a few simple lines of JavaScript.

If you’re interested in what I’m collecting in my links, subscribe with RSS or follow me on Mastodon, where I plan to repost my links as well.